Department of Arts

Welcome to the Department of Arts! Our Department hosts four distinct areas of study – Music and Graphic Design at an undergraduate level, leading – after four years of study, to a Bachelor of Music and a Bachelor of Arts respectively, as well as a Music Education degree at graduate levels (Master’s and PhD) and a Master’s Degree in Visual Arts in Education.

The Department of Arts has managed to set high standards of quality and has gained a reputable name in the Cypriot society through a constant contribution of artistic events, exhibitions, concerts, conferences, workshops, seminars, lectures and international collaborations, thanks to the dedicated effort of our group of young, active and internationally acclaimed faculty.  Our Faculty members are all distinguished in their relevant fields – artists, designers, theorists, music educators, music therapists, composers, musicologists and performers, constantly involved in local and international artistic and other cultural events.  In addition, our highly renowned collaborators in different areas of study add to the prestigious reputation of the degrees offered.

Beyond that, the dedication to teaching and research enables students to successfully seek graduate studies and employment opportunities in relevant fields. Many of our students have won a number of prestigious national and international awards and competitions participated in numerous festivals and were invited to perform in many distinguished events.

The Department’s effort to contribute to the community is ceaseless and its mission to provide students with a warm but nonetheless demanding and challenging environment is never-ending. We welcome you once again and invite you to take a web tour of our Department.

Georgia Petroudi,
Chairperson, Department of Arts

Undergraduate Programs of Study


Graphic Design (Bachelor of Arts)
The ‘Graphic Design’ program provides students with the knowledge required to develop creative skills across a wide range of media, including print, interactive media, 3D design and motion graphics. Students also gain key professional skills in visual and ...


Music (Bachelor of Music)
The aim of the Music Program is to equip students with the knowledge and skills required for a career as music teachers and as professional musicians in solo and ensemble performance contexts.  


Postgraduate Programs of Study


Music Education (Master of Music)
The Master of Music program in ‘Music Education’ provides candidates with a comprehensive study of the theory, latest research and skills that shape this specialization as well as the capacity to explore the broader significance of Music Education within the ...


Visual Arts in Education (Master)
The program aims in providing a comprehensive program in Fine Arts in Education. It also aims in offering knowledge and skills as well as all the necessary requirements for the understanding of the art importance in the modern society of civilization.


Doctorate Programs of Study


Music Education (PhD)
The PhD in ‘Music Education’ is a rigorous program of study that aims to provide candidates with the necessary guidance and skills to become independent researchers in the field. Prospective students will be called for an interview with their designated supervisor to ...

Administrative Staff > Departments


Name Position Phone Email
Loizos Symeou Dean, Associate Professor, Sociology of Education 22713178 L.Symeou@euc.ac.cy
Yiannis Miralis Deputy Dean, Associate Professor, Music Education 22713135 Y.Miralis@euc.ac.cy

Name Position Phone Email
Georgia Petroudi Chairperson, Assistant Professor, Musicology 22713032 G.Petroudi@euc.ac.cy
Tasos Anastassiades Vice-Chairperson, Assistant Professor, Graphics, Visual Communication, Illustration and Comic Book Design 220229922 T.Anastassiades@euc.ac.cy
Sophia Hadjipapa-Gee Associate Professor, Fine Arts 22029921 S.Hadjipapa@euc.ac.cy
Aikaterini Romanou Associate Professor, Music 22713248 K.Romanou@euc.ac.cy
Elena Stylianou Assistant Professor, Art History 22713260 E.Stylianou@euc.ac.cy
Yianna Christophorou Lecturer, Graphics Design, Visual Communication, Typography and Graphic Production 22713183 Y.Christophorou@euc.ac.cy
Potheini Vaiouli Lecturer, Music Education 22713118 P.Vaiouli@euc.ac.cy
George Christofi Lecturer, Music Theory 22713242 G.Christofi@euc.ac.cy
Demetra Englezou Lecturer, Motion Graphics Production, Audiovisual Media & (2D – 3D) Animation 22713225 D.Englezou@euc.ac.cy

Special Teaching Personnel


Name Position Phone Email
Maro Skordi Senior Instructor, Music Education 22713151 M.Skordi@euc.ac.cy

Administrative Staff


Name Position Phone Email
Marianna Papaconstantinou Administrator 22713083 M.Papaconstantinou@euc.ac.cy
Elena Gavriel Secretary/Personal Assistant 22713081 E.Gavriel@euc.ac.cy
Eleni Iacovidou Secretary 22559574 E.Iakovidou@euc.ac.cy