Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Welcome to the Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) at European University Cyprus. As chairperson, it is my honor to introduce to you the Department and briefly highlight some points that make CSE a great place to study.

 

The Department was created in the 1980’s (under Cyprus College) to address the needs of the then emerging information technology. Over the last 35 years, the rapid growth of information technology and communications has been closely tracked by the Department which actively contributes to academic as well as industry workforce needs both nationally and internationally.  Our Industrial Advisory Board guides us towards more effective integration of our degrees with the local software and hardware industry as well as emerging and future needs in the field of information and communication technologies.

 

In both undergraduate and postgraduate level, the Department is committed in providing world-class education. At the Bachelor level, in English, we currently offer degrees in: Computer Science, Microsoft® Information Systems/Web Technologies, Computer Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Civil and Environmental Engineering. In Greek, we currently offer a degree in Mathematics. All programs of study (where applicable) follow the guidelines of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) and those of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). The Computer Science, Computer Engineering and the Electrical and Electronic Engineering degrees are recognized by the Cyprus Scientific and Technical Chamber (ETEK) a statutory technical advising body for the state and a point of reference for engineers in Cyprus. At the postgraduate levels we offer, all in English, degrees in Computer Science (MSc and PhD), Information Systems (MSc on distance education) and Occupational Safety and Health (MSc and PhD). Relevant information for all programs is available further below on this page.

 

CSE faculty are active in a wide range of research areas. From mobile computing, networks and cognitive radio, to video games, decision support systems and high performance computing. The Department operates several research laboratories such as the Information and Communication Technologies – Enhanced Education laboratory; the Center for Game Studies, the Decision Support & System Optimization laboratory, the Mobile Computing Center and others.  At these centers, faculty either coordinate or act as contributing members and participate in national and/or international projects to perform research in a diverse range of theoretical as well as, most usually, applied areas.

The Department possesses a reputation for excellence in education and in producing graduates of the highest quality. Our graduates are equipped with strong foundations leading to, either integration to the industry or continuing onto further education and/or research. Our alumni have moved on to either enter universities abroad (mostly UK and US) for graduate studies; or find employment in large companies in Cyprus or abroad, or have founded their own successful businesses.

 

We continuously work on enhancing our education and research activities towards realizing our goal of becoming a constant point of reference and excellence for high academic achievement in Cyprus the Mediterranean region and Europe.

 

Dr. Andreas Grondoudis

Chair – Department of Computer Science and Engineering

 

Undergraduate Programs of Study


Civil & Environmental Engineering (Bachelor of Science)
The 'Civil & Environmental Engineering' Program covers all theoretical and practical knowledge which is necessary for the analysis, design, construction, and management of technical projects, systems, and critical infrastructure. These activities are directly linked ...


Computer Engineering (Bachelor of Science)
The Computer Engineering program provides students with the software, hardware and electronics engineering skills required to design, deliver and maintain efficient and effective computing systems. The program develops practical skills through extensive project work, covering ...


Computer Science (Bachelor of Science)
The Computer Science program covers the foundations of the field in theory and practice, including the interaction between hardware and software, the human-computer interface, and the social and economic significance of information technology. The program emphasizes the flexible ...


Electrical and Electronic Engineering (Bachelor of Science)
Through a combination of courses from both fields the BSc in Electrical and Electronic Engineering offers students a sound preparation for their role in designing, installing and maintaining electrical and electronic systems. Students are offered the possibility to specialize in ...


Mathematics (Bachelor of Science)
The course covers a wide range of pure and applied mathematics and offers students the capacity to acquire problem-solving skills that would form the foundations for their specialization.


Microsoft® Information Systems/Web Technologies (Bachelor of Science)
The Microsoft Information Systems/Web Technologies program enables students to apply theoretical concepts to solve real-life problems related to web/mobile and information systems. Courses cover the principles of information systems, including design, implementation, and ...


Postgraduate Programs of Study


Computer Science (Master of Science)
The program provides advanced knowledge of all important fields of Computer Science, such as modern networks, database systems, algorithms and complexity and software engineering, enabling the student to delve in at least one of them. During the development of the program the ...




Information Systems (Master of Science)
The MSc in Information Systems provides an in-depth understanding of the role of information systems in meeting organizational challenges. The program develops technical knowledge and skills in the design, implementation and management of information systems to respond to market ...


Occupational Safety and Health (Master of Science)
The MSc in Occupational Safety and Health (MOSH) is a comprehensive and in depth course covering the management, economic, legal and technical aspects that relate to the hazards of the workplace environment. It is targeted at graduates with an engineering, numerical, business, ...


Doctorate Programs of Study


Computing/Computer Science (PhD)
The  doctorate degree in Computing/Computer Science provides the future PhD holders with the necessary skills and abilities to become successful academics demonstrating an excellence in research and making a significant contribution to the local and international research ...


Occupational Safety and Health (PhD)
The PhD program in Occupational Safety and Health aims to create a new generation of high level research scholars.  The program aims to capitalize on the existing traditional theoretical schools in safety science, while taking in account the local, cultural influences, as ...

Administrative Staff > Departments


Name Position Phone Email
Christos Dimopoulos Dean, Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering 22713193 C.Dimopoulos@euc.ac.cy
Demetris Hadjiloucas Deputy Dean, Associate Professor, Mathematics 22713141 D.Hadjiloucas@euc.ac.cy

Name Position Phone Email
Andreas Grondoudis Chairperson, Assistant Professor, Computer Science 22713273 A.Grondoudis@euc.ac.cy
Georgios Stylianou Vice-Chair Person, Assistant Professor, Computer Science 22713199 G.Stylianou@euc.ac.cy
Andreas Efstathiou Vice-Rector, Research & External Affairs, Professor, Science & Mathematics 22713188 A.Efstathiou@euc.ac.cy
Katerina Papanikolaou Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering 22713290 K.Papanikolaou@euc.ac.cy
Georgios Christou Associate Professor, Computer Science 22713104 G.Christou@euc.ac.cy
Konstantinos Katzis Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering 22713296 K.Katzis@euc.ac.cy
Marina Appiou-Nikiforou Assistant Professor, Mathematics 22713107 M.Nikiforou@euc.ac.cy
Ioannis Michos Assistant Professor, Mathematics 22559556 I.Michos@euc.ac.cy
Vicky Papadopoulou Assistant Professor, Computer Science 22713046 V.Papadopoulou@euc.ac.cy
Christodoulos Efstathiades Lecturer, Information Systems 22713224 C.Efstathiades@euc.ac.cy

Special Teaching Personnel


Name Position Phone Email
Elias Savvides Senior Instructor, Mathematics & Chemistry 22713292 E.Savvides@euc.ac.cy
Haris Christodoulou Senior Instructor, Mathematics & Physics 22713298 H.Christodoulou@euc.ac.cy
Leonidas Koufopavlou Senior Instructor, Computer Science & Engineering 22713287 L.Koufopavlou@euc.ac.cy
Pericles Leng Cheng Instructor, Computer Science 22713127 P.Cheng@euc.ac.cy
Stavros Charalambous Instructor, Computer Science 22713278 S.Charalambous@euc.ac.cy

Visiting Faculty


Name Position Phone Email
Ioannis A. Mylopoulos Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Aristoteles University of Thessaloniki, Greece N/A I.Mylopoulos@external.euc.ac.cy
Andreas A. Ioannides Professor, Physics and Neurescience AAI Scientific Cultural Services Ltd, Cyprus 22713293 N/A
Apostolos Stergioulas Professor, Sport Science & Physical, University of Peloponnese, Greece N/A A.Stergioulas@euc.ac.cy
Jean-Luc Wybo Professor, Loss Prevention In The Petrochemical Industry, Tongji University, China 22713293 J.Wybo@external.euc.ac.cy
George Hadjisophocleous Professor, Safety Technology, Carleton University, Canada 22713293 G.Hadjisophocleous@external.euc.ac.cy
Georgia Sotiropoulou Associate Professor, Pharmacology, University of Patras 22713227 N/A

Lab Administration


Name Position Phone Email
Maria Mastorikou Lab Coordinator 22713207 M.Mastorikou@euc.ac.cy
Irine Georgiou Laboratory Assistant 22559411 I.Georgiou@euc.ac.cy

Administrative Staff


Name Position Phone Email
Fotini Tsaliki Administrator 22 713205 F.Tsaliki@euc.ac.cy
Theodora Georgiou Secretary/Personal Assistant 22 713227 T.Georgiou@euc.ac.cy
Flora Theodorou Secretary/Personal Assistant 22713293 F.Theodorou@euc.ac.cy
Nasia Alexandrou Secretary/Personal Assistant 22559486 N.Alexandrou@euc.ac.cy