Department of Health Sciences

The Department of Health Sciences is a vital part of EUC’s initiative to be a leading University in the region, offering excellence in Teaching, Research and Service with a strong student focus. Our department is committed to fostering interdisciplinary research in the health sciences as we work towards our mission to address the needs of our society by promoting health and well-being of individuals, families, and communities.

The Department of Health Sciences was founded in 2007 under the existing School of Sciences. At that time, the Department offered the undergraduate program of study in Nursing. One year later, in 2008 the undergraduate program of study in Physiotherapy was introduced and it was the only Physiotherapy program in Cyprus at that time. Witnessing the educational needs as well as the expectations of our society, the Department of Health Sciences expanded its programs of study. The rapid and extraordinary development of the Department is reflected in the introduction of new programs of study, at bachelor and master level, as follows:

 

In addition, the Department offers programs at doctorate level, as follows:

 

The Department’s fulltime faculty consists of distinguished scientists and experts with long academic and research experience in their respective fields. In addition, there is an active and involved group of adjunct faculty, special scientists and scientific collaborators. In order to ensure that our students’ clinical practice and internship is implemented effectively, our Department collaborates with public hospitals, food industry as well as with specialized private institutions.

At the Department of Health Sciences we aim is to deliver outstanding teaching and research related to human health and, in a long-term perspective, to provide its students with the necessary theoretical and practical knowledge in order to become leaders in their fields. Our graduates can pursue successful careers in public and private health care units and organizations, rehabilitation centers, community and sports clubs, physical therapy centers, schools, food processing companies and other in Cyprus and overseas.

 

Dr. Dimitris Stasinopoulos

Chair – Department of Health Sciences

Undergraduate Programs of Study


Nursing (Bachelor of Science)
The main objective of the program is to train professional pluripotent Nurses of General Nursing Science in order to become capable to contribute in the prevention and restoration of health of people of all ages, as well as the maintenance and promotion of human health and ...


Occupational Therapy (Bachelor of Science)
The Occupational Therapy program provides students with an extensive understanding of the importance of evaluation and the application of treatment as a tool for growth, recovery or sustainability of living and work skills to individuals (children and adults) with physical, ...


Physiotherapy (Bachelor of Science)
The Physiotherapy program offers students with an extensive understanding of physical, structural and physiological aspects of human form and movement. Based on the current educational guidelines of the World Confederation of Physical Therapy (WCPT), the program additionally ...


Radiodiagnostics - Radiotherapy (Bachelor of Science)
The course addresses the fast expanding discipline of Radiology and Radiotherapy by providing students the knowledge for expert operation of latest technologically advanced medical equipment used in diagnosis and therapy. The course provides the foundations in anatomy and ...


Speech and Language Therapy (Bachelor of Arts)
The Speech and Language Therapy Program combines theoretical education to clinical practice for assessment, prevention, and treatment of speech, language, communication, and swallowing disorders. The Program provides a well-rounded education on Speech Therapy, with coursework ...


Postgraduate Programs of Study


Gerontology (Master of Science)
As the demographic transition evolves, the proportion of the population over 65 years of age is constantly rising in all developed countries. This eventuality, coupled with the increase in life expectancy and the improvement of living conditions constitutes a major challenge for ...


Midwifery (Master of Science)
The M.Sc. in Midwifery program aims to provide evidence-based knowledge and high-quality skills through an interdisciplinary approach to sound education and training of students in the discipline of Midwifery with emphasis on prenatal and perinatal care of the mother and the ...


Nursing (Master of Science)
The Master of Science program in Nursing provides graduates with an interest in Community Health Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing or Midwifery to deepen their knowledge and to develop and apply their skills. Graduates of the program will possess exclusive capacity in providing ...


Public Health (Master in Public Health)
The Master program in Public Health provides students with advanced theoretical and practical knowledge that allows them the capacity to assess and improve the quality standards and operations of the health sector. It provides candidates with the scientific, management and ...


Speech-Language Pathology (Master of Science)
The European University Cyprus Speech Language Pathology graduate program is the first Speech Language Pathology Graduate degree to be offered in Greek.  The program students receive advanced knowledge in the main areas of Speech Pathology in order to diagnose, treat, ...


Sport Physiotherapy (Master of Science)
The European University Cyprus Sports Physiotherapy graduate program is unique of its’ kind in the wider Greek area and is being developed into a modern and dynamic academic enviroment. Through their education, the program students have the opportunity to deepen and ...


Doctorate Programs of Study


Nursing (PhD)
The aim of the doctorate degree in Nursing is to provide the future PhD holders with the necessary skills and abilities to become a new generation of successful researchers. The doctorate degree in Nursing, through a minimum of a three years’ period, aims to develop the ...


Physiotherapy (PhD)
The  doctorate degree in Physiotherapy provides the future PhD holders with the necessary skills and abilities to become successful academics demonstrating an excellence in research and making a significant contribution to the local and international research community in ...


Public Health (PhD)
The doctorate degree in Public Health provides the future PhD holders with the necessary skills and abilities to become successful academics demonstrating an excellence in research and making a significant contribution to the local and international research community in the ...

Administrative Staff > Departments


Name Position Phone Email
Christos Dimopoulos Dean, Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering 22713193 C.Dimopoulos@euc.ac.cy
Demetris Hadjiloucas Deputy Dean, Associate Professor, Mathematics 22713141 D.Hadjiloucas@euc.ac.cy

Name Position Phone Email
Dimitris Stasinopoulos Chairperson, Associate Professor Physiotherapy 22713044 D.Stassinopoulos@euc.ac.cy
Stavroula Andrea Apostolidou Professor, Nursing 22713039 S.Apostolidou@euc.ac.cy
Giagkos Lavranos Vice-Chairperson, Assistant Professor, Public Health 22713174 G.Lavranos@euc.ac.cy
Nicolas Christodoulou Professor, Physical & Rehabilitation Medicine 22713248 N.Christodoulou@euc.ac.cy
Chrysoula Thodi Associate Professor, Audiology 22029901 C.Thodi@euc.ac.cy
Maria Christopoulou Assistant Professor, Leadership & Management In Education 22029907 M.Christopoulou@euc.ac.cy
Costas Constantopoulos Assistant Professor, Speech Language Pathology 22029905 C.Constantopoulos@euc.ac.cy
Demetris Lamnisos Assistant Professor, Statistics 22713293 D.Lamnisos@euc.ac.cy
Marilena Theodorou Lecturer, Radiotherapy & Radiation Oncology 22713293 M.Theodorou@euc.ac.cy
Irene Polycarpou Lecturer, Medical Physics 22559573 I.Polycarpou@euc.ac.cy
Sofia Xergia Lecturer, Physiotherapy 22559671 S.Xergia@euc.ac.cy
Louiza Voniati Lecturer, Speech & Language Therapy 22029904 L.Voniati@euc.ac.cy
Pavlina Psychouli Lecturer, Occupational Therapy 22559576 P.Psychouli@euc.ac.cy
Maria Prodromou Lecturer, Nursing 22713016 M.Prodromou@euc.ac.cy
Maria Leonidou Lecturer, Health Management 22713293 M.Leonidou@euc.ac.cy
Christos Savva Lecturer, Physiotherapy 22559400 C.Savva@euc.ac.cy

Special Teaching Personnel


Name Position Phone Email
Stefanos Leandrou Instructor, Radiology Technology 22559567 S.Leandrou@euc.ac.cy
Maria Nicolaou Instructor, Nursing 22713197 M.Nicolaou@euc.ac.cy

Visiting Faculty


Name Position Phone Email
Ioannis A. Mylopoulos Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Aristoteles University of Thessaloniki, Greece N/A I.Mylopoulos@external.euc.ac.cy
Andreas A. Ioannides Professor, Physics and Neurescience AAI Scientific Cultural Services Ltd, Cyprus 22713293 N/A
Apostolos Stergioulas Professor, Sport Science & Physical, University of Peloponnese, Greece N/A A.Stergioulas@euc.ac.cy
Georgia Sotiropoulou Associate Professor, Pharmacology, University of Patras 22713227 N/A

Lab Administration


Name Position Phone Email
George Charilaou Administrator/Lab Supervisor, for the Nursing Program 22559555 G.Charilaou@euc.ac.cy
Xenia Ioakim Administrator/Lab Assistant Supervisor, for the Nursing Program 22559673 X.Ioakim@euc.ac.cy
Antonis Constantinou Clinical Trainer Physiotherapy 22559400 A.Constantinou@euc.ac.cy
Christos Karayiannis Clinical Trainer Physiotherapy 22559400 C.Kariayiannis@euc.ac.cy
Maria Pavlidou Laboratory Assistant 22559415 M.Pavlidou@euc.ac.cy

Administrative Staff


Name Position Phone Email
Ioanna Stavrou Administrator, Speech Language and Hearing Clinic 22029900 I.Stavrou@euc.ac.cy
Fotini Tsaliki Administrator 22 713205 F.Tsaliki@euc.ac.cy
Flora Theodorou Secretary/Personal Assistant 22713293 F.Theodorou@euc.ac.cy
Theodora Georgiou Secretary/Personal Assistant 22 713227 T.Georgiou@euc.ac.cy
Nasia Alexandrou Secretary/Personal Assistant 22559486 N.Alexandrou@euc.ac.cy