Department of Humanities

English as a Foreign Language:

Humanities has a profound investment in English as a Foreign Language and supports the English language needs of the entire EUC, including courses in English for specific purposes.  Eng104-Technical Writing, and Eng205-Business English complement the student requirement for specialized English in a professional environment.

 

BA in English Language and Literature:

This is the Department’s oldest degree on offer, qualifying Cypriot and international students with a highly competitive BA degree.  The English faculty comprises of research scholars with a broad spectrum of research interests; sociolinguistics and second language acquisition, poetry and prose, dance and theatre, literary theory and film, Gothic novel and feminist fiction.  EUC Humanities scholars maintain an active research record with consistent conference participation and international publications by recognized and prestigious academic presses.  Many of our BA English graduates have moved on to become successful EFL teachers, aided and encouraged by the Teacher Training Seminars offered free of charge by the Department and taught by specialized faculty focusing on specific areas of EFL teaching.  Other graduates have successfully pursued MA degrees in Literature or Linguistics in mostly British universities, others have established themselves as among the island’s most promising new poets and writers, winning poetry competitions and publishing creative work. 

The Literary Society:

Although affiliated with the Department of Humanities, the Literary Society is active in the organization of events that draw faculty and public from a range of backgrounds and disciplines.  These events include talks that may focus on an area of Linguistics or poetry readings with some of the island’s most notable poets and writers.  Through the variety and success of its activities and the learning support it provides to students, the Literary Society makes a valuable and unique contribution to the island’s literary affairs.   

Cadences:

Cadences: A Journal of Literature and the Arts in Cyprus is a multilingual literary magazine published by the Department of Humanities at European University Cyprus.  It publishes poetry, short fiction, autobiography, experimental work, and other writings in all the languages of the island of Cyprus and those of its visitors. This journal is a venue where writers think, feel, and express themselves in several languages, Greek, Turkish, and English being three of the most prominent. Cadences is a bridge between them, a meeting point at which writers of diverse communities may find each other, and learn from their encounters with difference.  It is committed to building bridges between the communities, while both encouraging students and new writers.  The journal’s advisory editorial board is composed of prominent writers and academics from the Greek Cypriot, Turkish Cypriot, Armenian Cypriot, Palestinian American, American and London Cypriot communities. Its aim is to reflect the diversity of the island’s writing and in the process enhance cultural understanding and communication.

 

Dr. Charis Xinari

Chairperson, Department of Humanities

School of Humanities, Social and Education Science

 

 

Undergraduate Programs of Study


English Language and Literature (Bachelor of Arts)
The English Language and Literature program enables students to develop the critical skills needed for textual reading and analysis, as well as the practical skills required to understand and teach the world’s primary international language. The program covers a broad ...


Postgraduate Programs of Study


English Language and Literature (Master of Arts)
The Master of Arts in English Language and Literature offers students the opportunity to examine literary, theoretical and critical texts from a variety of cultural contexts, fostering advanced skills of comprehension, interpretation, and analysis. A core feature of the program ...


Doctorate Programs of Study


There are no doctorate programs offered.

Administrative Staff > Departments


Name Position Phone Email
Thanasis Daradoumis Scientific Collaborator N/A daradoumis@aegean.gr
Loizos Symeou Dean, Associate Professor, Sociology of Education 22713178 L.Symeou@euc.ac.cy
Yiannis Miralis Deputy Dean, Associate Professor, Music Education 22713135 Y.Miralis@euc.ac.cy

Name Position Phone Email
Charis Xinari Chairperson, Associate Professor, Critical and Cultural Theory 22713120 C.Xinaris@euc.ac.cy
Petra Tournay-Theodotou Vice-Chairperson, Professor, English Literature 22713115 P.Tournay@euc.ac.cy
Dimitra Karoulla-Vrikki Associate Professor Sociolinguistics 22713247 D.Karoulla@euc.ac.cy
Stavros Stavrou Karayannis Associate Professor, Postcolonial Literature 22713133 S.Karayanni@euc.ac.cy
James Mackay Assistant Professor, American Literature 22713257 J.Mackay@euc.ac.cy
Charalambos Papageorgiou Assistant Professor, Philosophy 22713177 B.Papageorgiou@euc.ac.cy

Special Teaching Personnel


Name Position Phone Email
Marina Elia Senior Instructor, English 22713264 M.Elia@euc.ac.cy
Monica Hadjichrysanthou Senior Instructor, English & Communication 22713147 M.Hadjichrysanthou@euc.ac.cy
Claire Georghiou Senior Instructor, English 22713266 C.Georghiou@euc.ac.cy
Krystallo Nicolaou Instructor, English & Communication 22713160 K.Nicolaou@euc.ac.cy
Sonja Tilliros Instructor, English 22713262 S.Tilliros@euc.ac.cy
Panos Panayiotou Instructor, English 22713121 P.Panayiotou@euc.ac.cy

Administrative Staff


Name Position Phone Email
Eleni Iacovidou Administrator 22559574 E.Iakovidou@euc.ac.cy
Maria Constantinou-Kois Secretary/Personal Assistant 22 713258 M.ConstantinouK@euc.ac.cy