Select Page
European University Cyprus accepted as member of the Utrecht Network
Posted: July 29, 2020

In a historic decision taken on Tuesday 14 July following an institutional review process and an online vote, European University Cyprus was accepted as a full member of the Utrecht Network.

The Rector of European University Cyprus Professor Gouliamos described the development as a “significant achievement in the history of the university as the Utrecht Network has always been a reference point of academic excellence both in Europe and worldwide”.

The Utrecht Network is a Europe-wide network of universities cooperating in internationalisation, strongly committed to initiatives that strengthen the international profile of its members as well as the cohesion and global outlook of the group. Extensive experience gained at national and international level is shared among members through their joint actions and initiatives in order to attain the highest quality in the management of European and international projects, exchanges, university services and effective organisation.

Most recently the Utrecht Network was approached by the European Commission to reflect on the future of the “Erasmus+ program” as well as on the new “European Universities” initiative making it a key stakeholder in the European Higher Education arena. The Network has 30 of the most prestigious and historic universities in Europe from 24 countries as members.

Professor Gouliamos said he was deeply proud of European University Cyprus’ inclusion and was confident that strengthening the cooperation with the network’s universities would provide a robust foundation for furthering inclusive academic growth and in establishing long-term quality collaborations.