Select Page
European University Cyprus announces Excellence in Teaching and Research award winners
Posted: August 4, 2020

European University Cyprus is proud to announce the winners of the Mary Eleftheriadou Annual Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Research 2019.

The Awards, in memory of Professor Mary Eleftheriadou*, were established to recognize the enormous contribution of the EUC’s exceptional teachers and researchers who are vital to upholding the institution’s renowned academic excellence.

The university’s Rector, Professor Kostas Gouliamos said “The Awards provide students, teachers and other members of the EUC community with an opportunity to celebrate those who make a real difference in the Schools. By appreciating excellence, we are raising the value of our teaching and researching staff and of the fantastic work they are doing”.

“The Awards constitute a fair recognition of the outstanding work of the staff and their efforts in going well beyond their role”, he added, expressing his congratulations to all winners who “exemplify the very best in the teaching and research profession”.

Winners of the 2019 Awards are as follows:

Dr. Louiza Voniati and Dr. Pericles Leng Cheng are the recipients of the Prize for Excellence in Teaching. The award was granted as a recognition of their dedication and distinction as educators at the EUC.

Prof. Maria Meletiou-Mavrotheris is the recipient of the Distinguished Researcher Award as an established researcher in the area of Mathematics Education with a strong publication record and extensive research activity.

Dr. Andreas Kalogirou is the recipient of the Young Researcher Award. He is a brilliant young researcher in the discipline of Chemistry.

  • Dr. Mary Eleftheriadou was Professor of Microbiology and Dean of the School of Sciences at European University Cyprus and had served as a Fulbright Visiting Scholar at the Center of Nanotechnology and Nanotoxicology of the School of Public Health at Harvard University.